India Tourist Visa on Arrival and e-Tourist Visa Information

The Indian Government introduced a e-tourist visa scheme on January 1, 2010. It was initially trialed for citizens of five countries. Subsequently, a year later, it was extended to include a total of 11 countries. And, from April 15, 2014 it was extended to include South Korea.

This Visa on Arrival scheme has been replaced by an online e-tourist visa system, effective from November 27, 2014. The system is being implemented in phases and has initially been made available to citizens of 100 countries, including the 12 countries previously eligible for a tourist visa on arrival.

Who is Eligible for an e-Tourist visa?

In the first phase, passport holders of the following countries: Andorra, Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Cayman Island,Chile, China, China- SAR Hongkong, China- SAR Macau, Colombia, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand,Nicaragua, Niue Island, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of Macedonia, Russia, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent & the Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Sweden, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Tonga, Turks & Caicos Island, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, United Kingdom, USA, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Vatican City-Holy See, Venezuela, Vietnam.

However, do note that if your parents or grandparents were born in or lived in Pakistan, you will be ineligible to get an e- tourist visa even if you're a citizen of the above countries. You will have to apply for a normal tourist visa.

Related News

  1. India launches new visa rules to boost tourism
  2. 10 Top Tourist Attractions in India
  3. Weather in India
  4. India Changes Name of Visa on Arrival to e-Visa
  5. Overview about India
  6. Things to know before visiting India
  7. Holidays in India in 2015
  8. Indian Cuisines
  9. Where to go in India
  10. Indian government extends e-tourist visa for 36 more countries